J.K. Rowling – The Tales of Beedle the Bard | Perfect for Harry Potter Fans!

imageedit_35_6631473187.jpg

 Title: The Tales of Beedle the Bard

Author: J.K. Rowling

Author’s Country of Birth: England

Genre: Fantasy

Page Numbers: 111 pages

Publish Year: 2008

Rating: ☆☆☆☆

Barnes & Noble | Amazon

Initial Thoughts…

Honestly, I had no idea that “The Tales of Beedle the Bard” existed–though many people have told me in the past that J.K. Rowling did write a book that included “The Tale of The Three Brothers”(which was featured in “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows”)!  I was completely clueless, because I expected to pick up a huge storybook like the Grimm Brothers or Christian Anderson.  When I finally did, my heart fell flat–and picked itself up again.

That was when I had remembered I was in elementary school when the Harry Potter books were coming out–and my classmate, a bookworm named Ariel–was reading the “gigantic” book.  By herself.  I had never felt so out of place in my life–and I was left, reeling back from the fact that I am now in my twentiesand this book I was holding in my hands were made not just for my generation–but for little generations who are currently going to elementary school, carrying gigantic Harry Potter books.

More than an entire decade had flown by.

What Is It About?

Whether you have read the book or seen the movie, anyone who is familiar with “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows” would be aware that fairytales or bedtime stories play a significant role in the story plot as Harry and his friends discover that not all things and people are what they claim to be.  They soon find themselves questioning the tales being told to young wizards and witches as truth or simply make-believe.  This causes them to explore the source of one story, “The Tale of The Three Brothers.”

Written by J.K. Rowling, “The Tales of Beedle the Bard” is a collection of stories aimed at young wizards and witches, being passed down for generations among the Wizarding world just as the Muggle world has shared tales such as “Cinderella” to their children.  While in Muggle fairytales, magic is the root of problems for Muggle heroes or heroines, “The Tales of Beedle the Bard” feature heroes and heroines who perform the magic themselves.  Beedle’s stories, though, help Wizarding parents explain to children that magic can often have consequences if abused.

In addition, throughout the book, readers will come across Dumbledore’s commentary notes about each tale.  If one takes time to read them, the clues and backstories will contribute to a deeper understanding of the Wizarding world and about his relationships with other Harry Potter characters, such as Mr. Lucius Malfoy.  “The Tales of Beedle the Bard” may have been written for children, but it is also a book that can be enjoyed by Harry Potter fans of all ages–as it opens up a whole new world of controversy revolving around the tension between Muggles and Wizarding folks.

How to Describe the Overall Book?

As I read the book, I quickly took note of its unique approach from the Wizarding perspective as Muggles were often depicted as ignorant, naive, and foolish people or those in need and at the mercy of magic.  In a sense, I felt as though we were poking fun at ourselves, our own Humanity, as Man can be so cruel, jealous, and quick to betray his own kind.  Why, if I were to put a Muggle and a Wizard next to each other, the Muggle who possesses no magic of his own–would be so frail and vulnerable next to the Wizard.

If there’s anything else one should pay attention to–it should also be the language.  I just love how J.K. Rowling wrote the book, because it takes the similar tone that the Grimm Brothers and Christian Anderson took–and it transports you into another setting at a different time.  At the same time, it is easy to understand, easy to read, and because of this, you and all of the other age groups–all fans of Harry Potter–are able to be part of this additional Harry Potter world experience.

imageedit_38_8638881251.jpg

What’s My Favorite Part?

Personally, I enjoyed “The Fountain of the Fair Fortune” and “The Tale of The Three Brothers”!  I felt that these two were among the strongest of the collection, because both stories had a variety of characters with contrasting differences, such as age or personality, and they all faced fairly more complex obstacles than the rest of the other stories.  I also thought that the way the collection placed these two stories was strategically well-planned, because one helped set off a strong impression and another helped set a stronger end to the overall book.

What’s My Least Favorite Part?

However, there was one or two stories that didn’t quite fit well in “The Tales of Beedle the Bard”–because I felt that they didn’t quite hold up when compared to the rest of the collection.  To me, they were either weak in character personality or story plot, and because of that, I was either left confused–trying to figure out the lesson of the tale or wondering why…in general.  Though the book was probably meant to be small, I felt that everything was rushed a little.

And So…

In the end, “The Tales of Beedle the Bard” would make a great gift for any Harry Potter fan.  While it isn’t as great as J.K. Rowling’s other works, I was still glad that I took my time to read it, because it helped provide some deeper insight in the tensed relations between the Muggle world and the Wizarding world, along with controversial interpretations of the stories.  Though you don’t necessarily need the book for vital Harry Potter world information, it is still filled with entertaining bits of knowledge related to Dumbledore and the Wizarding folks.

If you’ve read “The Tales of Beedle the Bard”, feel free to comment below with your personal opinion of the book–or if you like the post, please “like” it!

Author: Pretty Pearl

| California, USA | 20-something |

Leave a Reply

